homemade chicken stock

The other day, I had a chicken de-boned and rolled by my butcher and he gave me (well I’m sure I paid for it!) the carcass. Out with the slow cooker again! Chicken stock is such a staple in my house, I have the concentrate in the fridge constantly (will post that recipe soon too).  I use the liquid for poaching, soups, marinades etc.  It’s just one of those ‘all in and leave it’ recipes.

  • homemade chicken stock1 chicken carcass or 1 kg chicken necks
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 1-2 carrots chopped
  • 1 celery stick chopped
  • handful sliced mushrooms
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • bunch of herbs (I used parsley & thyme)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp peppercorns (omit for AIP).
  1. Put the chicken carcass in the slow cooker, cover with water.
  2. Toss in the vegetables & herbs.
  3. Season.
  4. Cook on low for 6-8hrs.
  5. Let it cool, remove the carcass and any big chunks of vegetables/herbs.
  6. Strain the rest into a large jar/container.  Store in the fridge for up to about a week (or even better, use it for a soup whilst it’s still hot!)

1 thought on “homemade chicken stock

Leave a comment